Iditarod musher Dallas Seavey with dogs under 2021 champion sign
2021 Iditarod Champion Dallas Seavey. Photo by The Iditarod/Dave Poyzer

Dallas Seavey became the 2021 Iditarod champion and a five-time winner when he crossed the finish line at 5:08 a.m. Monday morning. It took him 7 days, 14 hours, 8 minutes and 57 seconds to finish the approximately 848-mile race. Seavey is now tied for the most Iditarod wins with Rick Swenson.

Seavey already has a distinguished mushing career. He was the youngest Iditarod racer ever when he ran at 18 years old in 2005. He also became the youngest person to win an Iditarod in 2012.

Chad Stoddard of Anchorage won Rookie of the Year when he finished 23rd after about nine days and four hours.

Victoria Hardwick won the red lantern award when she was the final musher to cross the finish line at 12:22 a.m. on March 18. Hardwick and her team took 10 days, 9 hours, 22 minutes, and six seconds to complete the race.

This year’s race, Iditarod 49, followed an unorthodox route due to the coronavirus pandemic. There was no ceremonial start in Anchorage and the Iditarod restart took place in Deshka Landing, approximately five miles from the usual restart in Willow. Mushers followed the southern route typically taken during odd years until Iditarod, where they took a loop around Flat and back to Iditarod before racing back the same route to Deshka Landing.

Forty six mushers started the race. Thirty six mushers completed the whole course.

The top 10 finishers are:

1 – Dallas Seavey

2 – Aaron Burmeister

3 – Brent Sass

4 – Wade Marrs

5 – Mille Porsild

6 – Nicolas Petit

7 – Ryan Redington

8 – Joar Leifseth Ulsom

9 – Richie Diehl

10 – Ramey Smyth

Comments are closed.